Skip to content

Day 1: Where are you now?

Our first day’s prompt (for all classes) is a chance to catch up and describe: where are you now? What are your surroundings for learning, and where are you physically or emotionally?

I am sitting in the corner of my living room that is usually unoccupied from January through November. If this were the holiday season, I would be sitting on top of a fresh green tree, decked out with lights and ornaments, complete with a toy train running in circles underneath it. Instead, though, it’s March: I can hear birds outside my window, and see the sunlight streaming through red buds on the tree outside. My paper “brain” (planner) is sitting on the desk beside me, and baby O is upstairs napping in his crib. There’s chocolate nearby, of course, and plants from school to make it feel more like home.

Funny that “home” doesn’t feel like “home” for this.

In a different sense of “where are you,” I tend to keep swinging between zen and blind panic. My head keeps cycling between feelings of this will be enough, we will have enough, everything will work out and I NEED TO DO EVERYTHING NOW ASAP PERFECTLY WITHOUT ERROR IMMEDIATELY! Taking a break from work at that point seems to help; so does taking a walk, and getting a snack. My hangry ways are definitely WAY worse when I’m working from home than when I’m at school — I think I’m easier to distract there.

Hoping you all are well, wherever you are, and looking forward to hearing from you soon!

Melly

Published inELA IIIReal World WritingTeaching in the Time of Coronavirus

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar