Skip to content

Day 35: Summertime.

Today’s writing is an opinion post from my juniors yesterday: what are your hopes for summer 2020? What are your worries?

The opinion writing question goes on to ask about balance this summer: how do we weigh the relaxation and fun that comes with summer (and that all of us need, desperately) with the social distancing and health needs of our community? What can we do to find the balance?

I’ve been thinking of ways to adapt what I would normally go out and do. Some of those swaps are straightforward: instead of going to the pool, set up an inflatable pool in the backyard. (Whew–I think I was barely ahead of the rush on that one.) Instead of a family trip, set up a tent outside and make s’mores. Instead of shopping with my mom, we’ll take a socially distant walk and wear our masks. Instead of grilling at the Indy 500, do some at-home BBQ and watch marble races on YouTube. No kidding–this is exactly what my Memorial Day weekend plan is. I even have the bugspray ready.

I’m hoping that the warmer weather can bring a sense of play back into our lives. I know that these ideas are ridiculous, and I know that we would all rather be back to normal, but I’m hoping that having a sense of humor about the DIY options helps us get there.

Published inELA IIITeaching in the Time of Coronavirus

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar