Skip to content

Some things have changed since I last checked in!

The last time I actively published on this blog, it was a way to record my experiences teaching through Covid, to connect with my students from afar, and to process everything going on in our world.

Teachers returned to our buildings with a full-time virtual courseload in August 2020, and all of my energy went towards making sure my people (teachers, students, family, self) made it through.

Students returned to buildings slowly in February 2021. We learned how to teach “roomies and Zoomies,” checked temperatures in the morning, aligned desks with social distancing rulers, and held our breath for a vaccine.

In August 2021, everyone (minus a small virtual contingent) returned to in-person learning for good. We quickly learned that EVERYONE HAD FORGOTTEN HOW TO DO SCHOOL. We quickly relearned how to do all those things: write on paper, sleep at nighttime, create healthy routines, interact with human beings in person for long periods of time.

And here we are in Fall 2022.

You could say it’s been an eventful semester so far.

This is the first picture taken after I found out I was Missouri Teacher of the Year for 2023. My principals (and family!) conspired to surprise me at a “senior meeting” assembly. (“But why do you want my sophomores there?” I kept wondering.) Since then, life has felt mostly normal, with a few surreal experiences: I got to meet Jackie Joyner Kersee! I have very cool new certificates to hang on my wall! January 1st, the blur will really begin.

I look around my classroom frequently and still ask: was it real?

The class discussions, the preparation for college, the benchmark testing — it all goes on as usual, as I keep learning from my colleagues and experimenting with new approaches to meet my students’ needs. But I have a feeling these “normal” moments are going to become shorter and more precious soon.

What a moment to return to this blog!

My hope is to save observations of my year of service as Missouri TOY, but my dream is seeking experiences of my colleagues across the state. Being in this role isn’t about what I know, or what I can do by myself: it’s about being a voice for Missouri teachers and for public education in our country.

It’s hard to be a voice for anyone if I don’t listen first.

Subscribe to updates on this blog, or follow me on Instagram @mellyrhs and Twitter @mellyteaches to join the journey sharing what matters in public education.

Published inTOYUncategorized

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar