Skip to content

Quitting time…

I tend to be an arrive early/stay late kind of teacher: I enjoy having time to myself to shift into work mode at the start of the day, as well as some time to clean up and set up at the end of the day. (I’m way more productive in the mornings, but have come to accept that I still like a little time to myself on either end of the official work day.)

Tonight, I left at 5:30, after a faculty meeting, a few impromptu conversations with coworkers, several emails about graduating seniors, and a handful of copies. (The usual.) Bundling my way across the school parking lot with a number of bags on my arm that screamed “teacher!”, a car I didn’t recognize slowed down.

“Thanks for all your hard work!” the driver called out.

I didn’t recognize the driver. But his shout-out reminded me of all the hard work I had done today: cheering on a student accepted to a tough  summer program, having tough conversations with seniors who needed to have them, listening to colleagues who needed a sympathetic ear. It was a hard day’s work today – – but I appreciate it all.

Published inThoughtsWriting Challenges

2 Comments

  1. Fatemeh

    I echo that shot out! Thanks for all your hard work 🙂
    You care a lot about those around you and the systems you are in.

  2. Katie O

    While it is true that teachers deserve more monetary compensation, I wish more people understood the amazing power of the simple “Thank you” delivered by a stranger!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar