Skip to content

Comparison.

As I’m embarking on this TOY journey (and as I put myself out there on social media more), I have to remind myself of the wisdom of Theodore Roosevelt:

“Comparison is the thief of joy.”

Even in our orientation last month, the representatives of our states and territories had this reminder — and I am holding it close.

Though I know a little about teaching and have some jewels in my crown, all it takes is a peek on social media to see someone else doing something awesome, imagining something new, pushing something further.

My first reaction is always “oh, cool!”…but my second reaction is too often “should I be doing more?

That comparison is sneaky, and has a way of making me work through my tiredness, extending further when I should be recharging. No surprise that ends up being counterproductive: there’s no way to pour from an empty cup. If I try to be everyone else, there’s nothing left to simply be me.

So, for my own memory later, and for anyone else wrestling with those same sneaky questions: do you need to do more? A big, resounding no.

You are doing awesome things in your classroom for your kids.

You are doing awesome things outside those four walls for your community.

And you deserve to take time for yourself and my family to rest; that may be most awesome of all.

Published inTeachingTOY

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar